Double shortlisting at RTPI North East Awards

16 Nov 2021
Lichfields is delighted to be shortlisted twice at the RTPI North East Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) Awards.
Dominic Crowley has been shortlisted for Young Planner of the Year. The award seeks to recognise the brightest RTPI members in the early stages of their careers (with less than 10 years’ experience). Dom joined Lichfields’ Newcastle office in 2015 and has quickly built a strong portfolio of project experience applying his technical expertise to housing, mixed-use and heritage schemes. These include successfully leading on Claremont House providing planning advice for the renovation of a vacant Grade II listed building in Newcastle City Centre. Dom also played a crucial role in Callerton which will deliver 3,000 new homes (including affordable homes) in Newcastle.
Outside of his day-to-day work, Dominic also volunteers to advocate for the planning profession having chaired the North East Young Planners (YP) Steering Group between 2018-2020 whereby he played a significant role in bidding for, winning, arranging and leading the RTPI National Young Professionals Conference.
Dominic has played an outstanding team role helping the Newcastle office meet a growing client base and their expectations.

Harvey Emms, Senior Director, Head of Newcastle office

In addition, the expansion of FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies’ Bio-Campus in Billingham has also been shortlisted in the ‘Award for Planning Excellence’ category. This expansion will help the company remain at the forefront of developing and manufacturing life-impacting medicines such as cancer treatments, gene therapies and vaccines including COVID-19. It exemplifies Teesside’s status as a hub for the UK’s advanced technologies sector, particularly in medical and pharmaceutical research and development.
Given the contribution that FUJIFILM Diosynth Biotechnologies is making to the fight against COVID-19, it is pleasing to see the project shortlisted by the RTPI.

Anthony Greally, Senior Director

Winners and commendations will be announced at an awards ceremony on November 24.

Image credit: Chris Gillespie at Skylapse Media | Ryder Architecture